A couple of unidentified Jordan Brand sneakers causing rampant speculation

Back on July 27, we got our first look at a leaked image of a Jordan Brand sneaker, that many people speculated was the Air Jordan XXX5.

I wasn’t convinced, and suggested that I thought this was a Jordan team shoe, perhaps the next Jumpman model.

Presumably, the reasons that people think they’re the 35s are the similarities of this midsole to that of the Air Jordan XXX4, along with the apparent presence of an “Eclipse Plate” once again, technology that was implemented on the 34s.

july27

We later saw some more images of this same sneaker — first on August 3, then on August 11 — where it only reinforced the belief of those people that believed them to be the 35. In these images, we can see through the midsole due to an “Eclipse Plate”, and moreover, the particular colourway from these images bears the number “23”, which commenters have said only appears on the flagship Air Jordan model.

aug3

aug11

These images definitely had me thinking that this sneaker could definitely be the Jordan 35, but after three rounds of leaked images, I was ready to reserve judgment and put it to the side, and wait for any official reveal or announcement of the sneaker from Jordan Brand.

Then yesterday (August 27), House of Heat shared images of another very similar sneaker, asking whether users thought the sneaker was the Air Jordan XXX5 or a take-down model. The images were also shared by Instagram user and sneaker leaker Street Boy, reporting them to be the Air Jordan 35. Subsequently, other major sneaker outlets such as Bleacher Report Kicks and Sneaker News posted an image of this sneaker, reporting that it was rumoured to be the Jordan 35.

aug27aug27iiaug27iiiaug27ivaug27v

As we can see, there are definitely similarities between the two sneakers. While we still don’t know for certain, and this still being merely speculation, if you asked me what I think right at this moment, I would say the first sneaker is most likely the Air Jordan XXX5, while the second sneaker is the Jumpman 2021.

I have been very non-committal with my take over on Instagram when I posted this sneaker, much to the chagrin of some commenters. I have simply been preaching patience and taking the wait-and-see approach while we wait for the sneakers to be announced by Jordan Brand themselves.

Of course, this is not good enough for some IG users that are receiving content from my page for absolutely nothing, and furthermore are not even following me (Easy Money Sniper Gang, I’m looking at you).

Looking at the images side-by-side, it does become a lot more evident that these are two different sneakers. Take a look for yourself below:

More information on these sneakers is likely become available in the coming weeks, so stay tuned for that.

Images for this article were sourced from my Instagram page, the original sources will be found there @hoops_sneakers_

Published by Hoops Sneakers

Keep up to date with everything in the performance basketball sneaker world by following me on IG! (at) hoops (underscore) sneakers (underscore)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started